How To Say Goodbye To Your Child’s Nightmare’s

My little Bella has begun to have nightmare’s. And I’m talking about full-blown, waking up screaming begging for Mommy nightmare’s. Scared me to death the first time I woke up to those terrified screams. That was the fastest I’ve ever shot out of bed in my life. I could not get her to calm down for a long time. I tried a lot of things but every time I tried to put her back to bed, (including my own) she would start screaming again, too afraid to go back to sleep. So I pulled a trick from my own past and it worked so well that I have to share it with you. I hope the following helps, and forgive the first person as it’s the only way I could get the words out in a way that worked.

I carefully explained that bed dreams where like little bugs that lived in her head. They buzz around and get so scared that they can’t help but transfer that fear to her. But if she wanted I could help the bad dream bug get out of her head. Of course she agreed without a second thought. So I went on to explain that I would cup my hand over her ear to catch the nightmare bug and then I’ll blow into her other ear. The bug would then fly out of her head and into my hand. Don’t worry, I didn’t blow into her ear, I blew across her ear but she didn’t know the difference. The moment I blew I clenched my fist as if I had caught the bug.

I showed her my fist and told her I had the dream bug in my hand and now it was time to set it free. So she took my other hand and we went to the back door. She pulled it open but before I “Let the bug go” I explained that the bug might come back unless she told it to go away. She said okay. Then I counted to three and threw the nightmare out the door. Then Bella shook her finger at it and said very firmly, “Please go away.” Then she shut the door, grabbed my hand and pulled me to her room where she climbed into bed and went to sleep almost at once.

She slept soundly the rest of the night and hasn’t woken up that away again. So next time your child wakes up from a nightmare, try this and maybe it will help your little one sleep again.

And as always, write on writers of the world, write on!

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in Bella Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How To Say Goodbye To Your Child’s Nightmare’s

  1. Nama says:

    That is awesome give bella a hug for me

  2. iBel29 says:

    Awww well atleast now you sorted hope she is having sweet best dreams ever

Leave a Reply

