My Major Query Blunder…

I sent out my frist query letter for The Watched yesterday. I’m both really excited and really scared at the same time. I’ve been waiting for two years to make it to this point, no, longer then that even, closer to three years. I’ve put hours upon hours of hard wonderful work into perfecting the book. I slaved over the internet researching potential agents. I even found the strength to request an Agent Profile for my blog. Yet, when it came time to write the query letter, I’m pretty sure I messed it up in a big way.

I know you’re suppose to draft the letter, let it seit, edit it and polish it and make sure it really grabs the agent. And I didn’t do any of that, not really. Thanks in large part to my pain med fogged brain I messed up, but it’s too late to take it back, I already sent it out.

Yesterday the letter looked perfect. I wrote it in less than five minutes and at the time I thought it was pretty damn good. This morning, not so much. I didn’t do any of the major Query No-no’s which I’m very grateful for and I might still stand a chance but if the Shark got a hold of my query I think she’d have a heart attack.

What I had thought was a witty way to approach the Query not just looks sloppy and half-assed. I mean, my hook was pretty gimmicky now that I’ve read over it.

“Josh’s task is simple: destroy the key that could unlock the fabric of time and single-handedly save the entirety of creation.

“The obstacle: the key is his best friend’s new-born daughter, Jamie Artwell.

“The tools available: his Watcher abilities to sense and control emotions and walk between the Shadows.

“The complication: he falls in love with Jamie and cannot bring himself to kill her.”

At the time I thought that was really good, this morning not so much. Besides that major oops, the rest of the letter is good. The second paragraph really works well I think. I made sure my bio-paragraph held only relevent information such as my freelance writing experience and my e-zine published short story of the same genre. I also remembered to mention out past correspondences and I personalized the letter at every opportunity. Oh, and most important of all, I did spell her name right. You can have one killer Query for the next greatest novel but you’ll get rejected quicker then a cat dumped in tub of water if you miss spell the agents name.

Despite my major query boo-boo I’m still very hopeful and confident. If I don’t hear back in two weeks I can assume she didn’t like the quirky hook and I’ll just move down my list and try her again with a better query in a few months.

In the mean time I plan to revamp this blog, up date Ms Townsend’s profile since she moved agencies, write that dreaded synopsis and research more Agents.

Sundays were meant for summing up my past week and I’ve spent a lot of words on just my query mis-hap so I’ll be brief on the rest.

I’m healing well from surgery, even if I’m still in a butt load of pain. Overall I’m feeling really good. I have been able to plan all of next weeks blog posts so now this blog will have some semblance of order to it. I’ve updated The Watched sample chapters here on The Leaking Quill so be sure to check it out and let me know what you think.

I really hope next weeks goes as well as this week has, but without the query letter issue repeating.

Write on writers of the web, write on!

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in Tragic, Week Recap and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

