So it Starts, Again

The most amazing thing happened two days ago. A new, exciting and involved story idea came to me, with the help of my wonderful new boyfriend. The last couple of days have been filled to the max with story development. An entire, well to be fair, 13 entire cultures have sprung into life in under 48 hours. This one idea could bring to life 13 separate novels sets, which are all inter-connected. Each set will have four to six books. 13 x 6 = 78 books all from one idea. Each unique unto itself, each set of six can stand alone yet all 78 would be connected. That may seem like a lot of books but let me explain.

As a reader I love long book sets. J. D. Robb is my hero! I also love stand alones, books that feed off other books but make sense etc. I also find myself sourly disappointed when the last book in a set is published because the world that has been built within those pages could easily be kept alive instead of ended. (Harry Potter, Twilight) Thus I wanted to creat a set of books that would fill this hole, so to speak. A long running set that can stand alone and feeds off the ones before it. The beauty of this, for myself anyway is a couple of things:

  • I”ll always have a book to write.
  • If I get bored I can stop at the end of a set and have another writer take over for a while without compromising the story.
  • If my daughter falls in love with the story she can take over when I’m gone.
  • My fans can always expect and look forward to a new book, set, etc.
  • I can watch my characters grow up all the way as the story unfolds.

Okay, that was more than a couple but what can I say, this is something I’ve always wanted to do and have given much thought about.

Now that I’ve gotten that off my chest, onto other things. My cross county trip ended unexpectedly when i fell in love with the south. I came here on vacation and stayed, simple as that. I’ve had a few struggles as I tried to get settled. Finding a job has been difficult but I start a new job this afternoon. It’s not the best job in the world by any means but it will be fun and pay the bills.

As far as finding ideas for my writing, that was a bit disappointing. I didn’t get nearly as much as I had been expecting, in fact, i can’t think if anything at the moment but that might just be because my head is so full of my new novel idea.

On a more personal note, my daughter is growing up so fast. She’s already taller than I was in the 3rd grade, can hold a real conversations, loves the Ninja Turtles and has begun to write. She knows her basic shapes, colors, letters and numbers. Can point out small simple words like mommy and cat. Plus she wrote her first story a few weeks ago. Well, she told it and I wrote it down. I would post it here but I’m going to try to publish it. It teaches counting to ten, colors, feeling and in a fun, childish manner.

Of course I’ll publish it under her name and any moneys made will go into a trust/college fund for her. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if my two-year old daughter got published before me? Or got published at all! In fact, I think her age would be a huge selling point. I know if I heard of a book by a young child I would at least look it up, if not buy it.

This has gotten long-winded so I’ll end on this note. I plan on resuming my daily blog and I want to thank each and every one of you who have stuck with me on this trip as well as during that poied of sudden silence. Thank you from the bottom of my heart, I love you guys!

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in So it starts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So it Starts, Again

  1. You might not have reached your original objective, but it sounds like your journey was a success nonetheless. Welcome back! 🙂

Leave a Reply

