RV Parks And Murphy’s Law

Last night was interesting to say the least. It was our first time staying at an RV camp ground if it could go wrong, it did go wrong.

The refrigerator is not working at all. I had to pick up some ice so the little ones milk would not turn over night. The frig is now being used as an old fashioned ice box, but it is very insulated so I’m not too worried. It will keep a days’ worth of food fresh at least. But I won’t be able to buy in bulk.

Another thing that went wrong last night was the water system. The kitchen sink is busted and of course, we didn’t know that until after we have turned the water on. It took a good 30 min after hooking up to notice that hey, I have a waterfall under the sink. We tried to repair it last night, however the connection wasn’t just right and we ended up with yet another soaking waterfall. So, we have no water at the moment either, just a small 3 litter jug for drinking, flushing and washing hands. But no shower, no coffee, no washing dishes.

The camp ground we are at today does have wi-fi, for a very small extra fee. I’m not worried about the fee so much as the quarter-mile hike with a toddler to get to the place where the Wi-Fi is.

Oh and on top of all that, we had a huge storm roll in overnight. I woke up to the RV rocking around horribly at about 1:30am and if that wasn’t enough to put my heart in my throat, add the bright, erratic light show, booming thunder that shook the RV nearly as bad as the tree bending wind and I could hardly think straight. Oh, and we can’t forget that the full hook up spot just had to be right in the middle of an open plain! However, there is a nice brick building within a short Mother’s dash from where I’m parked, and believe me when I say I slept in my shoes just in case. Notice I said Mother’s dash, because otherwise it would be about a 5 minute walk. Thankfully, I didn’t have to run for cover in the middle of a nasty storm with my baby in arms.

There are some good points to this place. They have a pony my daughter can squeal over, a beautiful set up, lots of space for her to run around in and the price is very reasonable! This place is a working farm, without the animal by-product smell. I’m looking forward to showing Bella around the place and explaining that this is where our food comes from!

My writing is going well, all of these set backs are really helping with story development, believe it or not. I do believe we will stay here for another night and just enjoy this place, oh and to fix all the problems.

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in On The Road, RV and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to RV Parks And Murphy’s Law

  1. Mom says:

    It only took a bit of this and that. Now it is all systems go. no more water falls or warm milk. just open road and adventure. Have fun

    Mom

  2. Pingback: 6-14-2009 Dream Fragments The Escape Artist Featuring Pauline Croze, And Et Tu Fatty? « John Jr's WordPress Blog

Leave a Reply

