First Night On The Road

I can not say how great it feels to be on the road at last. In just the few hours I’ve been gone I have picked up so much information for my book. I can understand on a deeper level what the MC is going through. Not only that, but I’ve experienced something I hope never to experience again.

This afternoon, while searching for a place to crash for a week, I stopped at a weekly rate motel. From the road, it looked pretty good, it had plenty of space for the little one to run around outside, and they had a swimming pool, always a great thing in summer. However, when I went in to ask about rates and what not I was bombarded by nasty. From all angles. It smelled horrible, like pot mixed with rotting food. It was nasty beyond words. Then the air felt sticky and slimy, like a swamp before a mid summer storm. After taking a shower I still feel gross. And the man at the desk was just plan skivey. He had to be at least 15 years older than I was, but he still eyed me in a way that made me wish I wasn’t dressed for the summer heat. I suddenly felt naked in my shorts and t-shirt. Not at all pleasant.

However, I was able to find a great place just a few miles up the road. It’s small, but clean and friendly. On top of that the man at the desk treated me like a real person and suggested a great zoo that my daughter might enjoy. I plan on taking her there later this week.

I know I promised after photo’s of the RV and they are coming, as well as The Leaking Quill’s official website. Be sure to keep your eye out for me, as I might be coming to town near you. If you do spot The Leaking Quill, feel free to suggest places to see and do in your town!

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in So it starts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First Night On The Road

  1. Ick re: gross desk clerk at scuzzy hotel #1. I’m glad you found a more suitable place to stay. Not sure of your itinerary, but if you come through WV, let me know! 🙂

  2. Laney says:

    Interested to hear about your trials. You are very brave. As far as the skeezy hotel….I’m sure that could create an interesting swing somewhere in a book. You should keep it in your back notes for later. Good luck on your journey:)

    • adsimons says:

      building things for my new book is the reason for this trip so you bet I’ll keep that bit in my notes, only I might make it that she is forced to stay there due to lack of anything else

Leave a Reply

