Just let go

Some say life is like a roller coaster. I have to disagree. It’s more like a marry-go-round. You have your up’s and down’s while moving in a never-ending pattern. Stay on too long and you’re going to get bored or sick. And unlike roller coasters, this ride has no safely belts.

My life, my writing, my everything is stuck on fast with the world rushing by as I try to hold on for dear life. Faces that once stood out like a beacon in a rain storm now blur into the crowd of on lookers. My heart raises in my chest, I can’t breathe, I can’t think. Everything is a wur of color, sound and motion. I have to get off this crazy ride.

But how? How does one break free from the pattern life has set for you? I don’t think there’s a right answer here. You could let go on the down point and risk flying head first into those golden gates, or you could let go on the highest up swing and risk flying out of this world.

When you decide to break free from the marry-go-round, it’s scary. Heart stopping, palm sweating, hair curling, blood freezing scary. I won’t lie, staying on is safer. You don’t know what’s out there, in that wall of color. You could fly right into the arms of danger and failure, just as easily as you could fly into the arms of a lover and triumph. Or you could land on your butt in an empty lot.

This uncertainty will not stop me. I’m gathering up my courage, filling my lungs to build up a decent scream and soon I’ll be ready to launch myself off this marry-go-round and into the unknown.

I’m terrified to the point where thought abandons me. My courage shivers like a frightened child, my lungs refused to accept the air and my legs are worthless jello. And I’m excited beyond words, refreshed by the thought of starting something new. I can’t let fear stop me. I don’t know when I’ll get a second chance. And to all those who want to get off the ride I highly suggest it. Yes, it’s scary as all hell, but the what if’s out there are endless. And who knows, you might just snag that bass ring as you fly past.

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in So it starts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

