Single Mother Meets Renovations

It seems to me that this is a month for renovations. I’m working my way through the completed novel to polish it to a mirror shine. And I’m starting the demo on the RV today. Both take similar steps. You can’t edit for typo’s until all additions have been added or you’ll have to go back and redo those edits. You can’t install a new floor until the old one has been taken out or you’ll have to remove to new floor first.

As promised, below are the before pictures of my RV. This will be our home for months on end in just a few week. But the RV needs a lot of work. As I complete the changes I will post updates here.

This is the main area of the RV. I’m going to convert the space next to the chair into my office area, recover the chair, screen the window, paint the walls and add curtains.

As you can see the carpet has past it’s prime and a chair has been removed once upon a time. This space will become home to my desk where I’ll be working during my grand adventure. I’ll be removing the carpet and replacing it with a wooden tile of some sort. The second chair you see is in the cab, which will remain as is.

And this is the kitchen, bath, bed area. I didn’t take pictures of the bath or bed areas mainly because I ran out of day light yesterday. I’ll post before pictures of them when I get that far. The main things I’ll be doing in this room are pulling up the carpet and replacing it. (Carpet in kitchen’s never made much since to me. Ever try to clean egg from carpet?) I’ll also be painting the walls.

It also needs a new water pump, a valve or two, a tune up, and oil change.

The bedroom area will be getting the most work. I’m tearing out the main bed, which has a basement of sorts under it and turning the pit into a kind of play place for my daughter. I’ll post the before pictures soon.

I’ll start ripping out the carpet today. It’s going to be hard, hot, dirty work. But there’s something about working with your hand’s and knowing you’ve left your mark that fills my heart with a sense of wonder. Much like when I finish a story, only not as warm.

If you have any idea’s or suggestions please let me know. I’d love to hear from you.

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in RV and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Single Mother Meets Renovations

  1. I commend you on your enthusiasm for hard work. We’ve renovated a few houses and sometimes I wonder if it’s worth all the effort. I only wonder that until it’s done and we are enjoying the fruit of our labor. Your RV is going to be wonderful when you’re finished. Keep up all the good work. Best of luck polishing your novel!
    -FringeGirl

Leave a Reply

