The Great Research

How far will you go to research a novel?

This question has been bouncing around in my head for a while now. I have one book I really want to write but the research for it will have to be extensive. It will either mean hours upon hours of pouring over the internet in the hopes I’ll find what I need, and that might only take me so far. What I really need to do is travel across the United States taking only the back roads and documenting every step of the way. Photo’s, videos, a blog of it’s own, personal notes, the list is endless. As I travel I’ll share with the world and write the book.

I found this photo at freefoto.com

Right now, the thought of taking this trip thrills me. I have no destination in mind, no path to follow save for the one in my heart and now would be the best time. I don’t have a physical job to go to, my daughter isn’t in school right now and I really don’t have anything to tie myself here.

This trip would be a once in a life time deal and the research for the book, beyond measure. Yet a lot of people would find this a bit much just for a novel I might never be able to sell. And I can see where they are coming from.

A single mother with a toddle packing up everything they own and leaving to travel across the country with no idea where they will end up. Put it that way, it sounds stupid. But as I asked at the very start, how far will you go to research a novel? And my answer is, to the moon and beyond.

This story is the one that I keep going to, yet can’t do anything about right now. The places I will take can’t be found on the web or in the local library. I won’t be able to really understand what the MC is feeling by reading of others travels. So, I will take this trip and enjoy the time I’ll spend with my daughter exploring the hidden places in the United States.

How far will you go to research a novel?

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in So it starts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Great Research

  1. I think taking the opportunity to travel the US with your daughter is awesome. My husband and I talk about getting a bus or RV or something and traveling the US with our kids (before they are out of school). It would be extraordinary! Best wish to you on your research journey.
    -FringeGirl

Leave a Reply

