Writers group, how I heart you!

Last night I had my first ever writers group meeting. I know why I put off joining a writers group, and now those reason seem silly. I’ve been writing for most of my life but it took me until recently to suck it up and join, all because I was afraid. Yes, I was terrified of joining a writers group.

I was worried that I would be laughed out by my poor spelling or lack of formal education on the subject. Which was so not the case. I was treated as an equal, a peer, some one with something worth saying. I had a blast and a half! It helped that the story we were going over didn’t need much, it was damn near perfect. Of course when I was first reading over it, I began to worry again, seeing as how I couldn’t really find anything wrong with it. I kept wondering if I didn’t know enough yet to join a group and do any good. Turns out this wasn’t the case. Not at all. She really had wrote the start of a great a novel. And I can’t wait until she lands an Agent and gets published so I can tell all my wonderful readers to well, read her book.

And even though my work wasn’t up to bat last night, I still learned a great deal. The little things we did point out as could be improved felt to me as though I was knit picking. The story was great, but it could be better by doing this. But those little things, to make a good book better could be used in my own work to make it better. Which is what I’m going to be doing today, among a lot of other things.

Not only did I learn a lot last night, but the zeal of the others filled me with joy and inspiration for my own novel. I can’t wait to give in today, even more so than normal.

So, with that, I’ll bid you ado and hit the pages of my work with fresh eyes.

Write on writers of the world, write on!

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in What I've Learned and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writers group, how I heart you!

  1. dawritings says:

    I feel the same way! Definitely a great meeting and I can’t wait for the next one.

  2. Pingback: Starting a Writer’s Group « A Writer's Blog

Leave a Reply

