All Play and No Work Makes For a Bad Book

Some times you just have to get on with the work and forget about what you want to do. That’s about where I am.  New novel ideas flood me, and I would really like to start working on those, but my novel needs to be finished first.  I’m making progress, not nearly what I would like, but progress nonetheless.  Yet what I have to do is work, no getting around it.  It’s boring, mind numbing work.

I’m dyslexic, so one of the things I have the hardest time with is transferring letters in words.  Yet a lot of the time spell check wont pick them up, so I have to comb over every word and cross-reference it with the dictionary to make sure it is the word I meant to use.  I can’t just trust my brain to pick out the wrong words and give me the right ones, since my brain automatically corrects the mistake for me.  Thus all forms become froms, and rights become fights.  Annoying to say the least.

So I pick up my trusty dictionary and comb the pages for words that don’t mean what I want them to mean.  It’s boring, mind numbing work, but I can’t write a novel without doing it.

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in So it starts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All Play and No Work Makes For a Bad Book

  1. Just a suggestion — for the words you *know* you confuse (from/form, write/fight), try using the Find/Replace function in Word. It won’t pick up on all of your mistakes, but it could lessen the burden of your manual editing.

Leave a Reply

