Midnight moment

In the middle of the night, a realization struck me harder than a prized fighter’s left hook.  A moment of clarity so pure and delightful that my whole body rang with the truth of it.  I’m still dazed from it this morning.  However, after chasing a two-year old around the zoo, coupled with an attack worse than I’ve had in weeks, I was unable to pull myself from bed to write it down.

It’s not lost, I can still feel it running around my head, yet, I can’t remember what it was.  It pertained to writing, and my novel, I know that much for sure.  But more than that, I’m not so sure.  I wish I had been able to drag myself out of bed last night to write it down.  Yet, now I must struggle to remember what my sleeping mind learned in the darkness of the night.

Of course, I could have just dreamed the whole realization and that’s why I can’t remember it now.  But I get so much of my writing from my dreams, so I will not just toss this aside.  I know that once I can figure this out, my writing will become that much stronger.

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in What I've Learned and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Midnight moment

  1. I’ve had ideas spring into my head about writing in my dreams, and at the time I thought that they were brilliant, then I woke up and realized that they were quite possibly the worst ideas ever. But then again, I’ve also have had really great ideas in my dreams too. I’m sure it will come back to you one way or other. 🙂

  2. I know the feeling. I have a dozen journals – one in my car (because something always hits me while I’m in traffic), one at my office and a few scattered throughout. But no matter what, I always lose that nugget … but only momentarily, it’s just in your brain, growing and turning into a bigger idea. 🙂

Leave a Reply

