The Unlearning

There are so many things one must keep in mind when writing a book.  To many, these things can seem overwhelming and thus they never try, or try only halfheartedly.

Plot.  Setting.  Characters.  Dialogue.  Action.  Movement.  Flow.  Believability.  Point of View.  And this list goes on and on.

I’ve been writing for many years and I still become overwhelmed by everything that goes into writing a novel.  I threw my self into research, drinking the knowledge of writing like water.  I couldn’t get enough.  And I still don’t know everything. And my writing has suffered for it.

I know what a plot is, I know why it’s important, yet I can’t tell you what the plot of any given novel is.  I know my novels have plots, I know what the plot points are and I can see the plot arc unfolding in the story, but I couldn’t tell you what the plots are.

Before I began my literary learning, my novels settings were vibrant and complex.  After I drove into the learning, my settings faded into the background.  I sacrificed the setting to trim the word count.  Now I struggle to revive my settings.

Characters.  If one thing bloomed in my writing by my learning it’s my characters.  They’ve grown to feel like real people.  Even though I know they are fictional, I can’t help but look for them when I’m out in public.

I won’t go into every aspect here, but over the last few days I’ve realized that my writing really has suffered from all the research I’ve done.  When I sit down to write, I’m more worried about the ‘rules’ then the story.  I still love to write, my heart flutters every time I sit down to write, but the product is weak and dull.

So, over the next few days or weeks I’m going to explore every aspect of what goes into writing a novel and try to revive the glow my writing use to have.  As I come across them in my final revision I’ll discuss them here.  Hopefully I will be able to unlearn so of the things that have harmed my work.

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in Tragic and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Unlearning

  1. emik says:

    you are so right sis i have stopped working on a rewrite for your novel because i was not sure if you were going to do some more serious editing to increase your word count and better describe your scenes. that is really what i feel is the next step but i gave you a sample of what i can do with your finished pages. so as soon as you have a few pages finished send them to me and i will see if i can work on them.

Leave a Reply

