Don’t Make me turn this car around!

I took the weekend off!  From writing anyway.  I gave myself a mini vacation from work, as a kind of experiment you could say.  And I did not like, not one bit.

I had no idea what to do with myself.  So I read.  And I read some more.  Then I redid my office.  To be honest, I half way redid it.  I couldn’t bring myself to finish because I knew once I did, I would want to write.

Saturday night was the hardest time for me to not write.  We had a sunset that broke my heart with its beauty.  A band of storms had rolled in shortly before dusk and when the sun hit the underbelly of that massive cloud bank, the sky lite up in the most wonderful way.  The brightest tangerine I’ve ever seen!  I couldn’t look away and my fingers itched for that pen until they ached.  Sunday morning, my mom told me the sky where she was had turned lime green.  It was a night of the rainbow sky.

Today, I’m ready to get back to work.  I’m so far behind it’s not even funny.  I shouldn’t have taken the weekend off, I’m not really sure why I did.  My characters complained the whole time.  Now, I’m not the biggest fan of the weekend by any means, if it never came around again that would be fine by me, but this weekend took the cake.  I didn’t even get to have one of those sugar flowers bakers put on top.  But I caught up on my reading, and I saw a rainbow sky.

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in So it starts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Don’t Make me turn this car around!

  1. I love the weekend! But that’s because I’m able to do most of my writing then…that is when I’m not going to my sister’s house to do marathon training runs. During the weekdays, I barely have much time to do really any writing.

Leave a Reply

