Short, sweet and stressed

This past week has been a roller coaster ride, let me tell you.  My self-imposed deadline for submitting my novel, which I’ve retitled The Watched, has come and gone.  Every day that goes by adds a whole new level of stress to my already taxed system.  I wait on pins and needles for the wonderful Beta Readers to finish.

I’m proud of myself, I haven’t been pushy towards them.  I’ve resisted sending out that follow-up email asking if they were done yet.  Though I do bring it up when ever I talk to them.  (I’m not super woman after all)  I’ve already got many great suggestions to improve it, and I’m eager to get to work on them.  In fact, I’m going to dive in today instead of waiting for them all to get back to me.

The second book The Lost is blooming like a dream.  It gives me chills just thinking about it.  I’m really looking forward to getting started on that one.  But sadly, the first book needs my attention.  Every time I sit down to work on the second, a small voice nags at me, telling me I’m just setting my self up for more rewrites than needed if I don’t wait to know if any new plot lines form from the suggestions of my Beta Readers.  So I sigh, and put it away.

I’ve been able to write a few shorts since I haven’t been able to work on my novel.  Truth be told, I’ve never enjoyed writing shorts.  I have a really hard time keeping the plot from blooming into a novel sized adventure.  However, I feel I’ve started to get the hang of it.  Sorta.  It seems I’m an extremest writer.  I either write novel length or flash fiction.  I haven’t been able to write anything under 60,000 or anything over 1,000.  But practice makes perfect so I have hope I’ll get it one of these days.

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in So it starts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Short, sweet and stressed

  1. Self imposed deadlines are very difficult to keep sometimes, especially when you need to wait for feedback from others. I’m now about a week past the deadline I set for myself to have my novel done by, but I keep procrastinating working on a scene that I need to fix up since I’m not really sure how exactly to go about fixing it.

    • adsimons says:

      I’d be glad to read over the scene you’re having trouble with and give you feed back if you want. I’m not an expert by any means but sometimes a fresh set of eyes is all you need.

  2. I’m the same way as far as writing length. I enjoy writing very short stories or full-length novels, and I have rarely written anything between 1,000 and 5,000.

Leave a Reply

