Writer’s Rant

This morning I’m not in the best of moods, not sure why.  Maybe the storm, or the dreams I had last night, or maybe it’s just because it’s Tuesday.  And because I’m in just a grumpy place today, I’m going to let out a rant this morning.

Why do we always hate the bad guys?  Why can’t we love them?  Writers of the world, I want to feel for the bad guy every once in a while.  And who’s to say they are bad to begin with?  What if they are acting as they know, deep down in their souls, to be the right thing?  I want to root the bad guy on every now and then!  Oh but no, no, no.  The bad guy is there to make the life of the good guy hell.  They are evil to the core and have no redeeming qualities.

Ask yourself this writers of the world, how do we know the bad guy is the bad guy?  What if he only comes across as the bad guy to the good guy?  Example: A woman, desperate to feed her child, sneaks into another mans house and steals a loaf of bread.  The man catches her and shots her before she can snag the bread.  If she had managed to steal that loaf, his children would have gone hungry.  Who’s the bad guy?  To the man, the woman is the bad guy for trying to steal the food from his children’s mouths.  To the woman, the man is the bad guy for keeping her from feeding her child.  See what I mean?  It’s all about perspective.

And I’m done with the rant.  Thank you.

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in Fun Questions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writer’s Rant

  1. Jayme says:

    I know what you mean! I usually end up rooting for the underdog – the Phantom in Phantom of the Opera, for example. Oftentimes, the “bad guy” is simply misunderstood! (Or, if s/he truly does bad things, it can be attributed to abuse or trauma in their past – so says the therapist, ha ha.) It’s my opinion that not enough writers make the effort to humanize the bad guys; if they did, we could see things from their perspective, see their true motives, and have a better story.

  2. I think the best bad guys are the ones that you actually really like as characters. The Phantom in “The Phantom of the Opera” is a good example. Another one that I think of is the Butcher in “Gangs of New York.” I secretly didn’t want him to die, even though he wasn’t necessarily a good person, he had good qualities about him and really was no worse than the main character.

Leave a Reply

