No, don’t go!

I’ve spent the last several years trying to prefect my craft.  I’ve read so many how to and writing guide it’s not even funny.  And I think it’s had the opposite effect.

Instead of improving my writing beyond what it was, I’ve begun to over think the work.  I second guess my word choices and see holes where there are none.  I’ve become so concerned with the ‘taboo’ that my writing is suffering bad.  I long for the blissful days where I could use an ‘ly’ word and not worry about removing it or the deviations from standard ‘said, asked’ tags.  Can’t a person growl, scream, yell, purr, moan any more?

Gah!  So, this time, this novel, I’m throwing everything (almost) I’ve learned out the window.  I’m going to write how I always have and stick my tongue out at any who turn their noses up at me.  So there!

Now, I’m not saying my last novel was crap, (It is but I won’t get into that) I’m just saying it was harder and less pleasant to write with all the rules hanging out my head.  I struggled (Still am) to get it long enough to be publishable.  Not because there wasn’t enough story to fill the pages, but because I was afraid to pepper the work with purple pose, ‘ly’ words and funniness.

I have to reverse edit this novel because of it.  Instead of taking out what isn’t need, I have to figure out what is missing.  This is much harder for me to do.  When I finish a novel, I’m done.  I say good-bye to the lovely characters I’ve gotten to know and love.  On this one, I have to hold on to them that much longer.  It makes me feel like a Mom who can’t let go of her kids when it’s time for them to leave the nest.

So, the point?  Forget everything you learned about writing a novel, until you hit the second draft.  You may need more ink in that red pen than before, but at least you won’t have to breathe life into a dead story.

I’m going to roll up my sleeves and attempt to revive this dead manuscript.

Clear!!! KAZZITK!

It’s alive!!!!!!

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in What I've Learned and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

