Now What?

On my desk sits my printed novel, hefty, crisp, fresh off the printer.  It’s still warm.  A light musty scent wafts from the pages.  My eyes stray to it time and time again and my fingers itch to take it up and read.  I’ve promised myself I wouldn’t reread it.  It’s done.  Finished.  It goes out on the 1st.

“But,” a small pesky voice nags in my ear, “Just once more won’t hurt.  It’s not like you’re going to rewrite it again.”

I steal another glance and my heart jumps.  Did I fix that bland scene where Jamie confronts Josh about his lies?  Is the final battle between Jamie and Sarah heart-pounding or just blah?  And is Pennie’s voice consistent throughout? Maybe just a once over, just to make sure.  No rewrites, unless it really needs it.

“Oh just give it a rest already,” my inner critic scoffs.  “It’s just a load of rubbish anyway.  No amount of rewrites is going to fix that.  You can’t polish a turd you know.  Dump the whole thing in the trash, that’s what you need to do.”

“Behave!” snaps the Muse.  “It’s brilliant, every word expertly crafted.  I know, I told her what to write.”

“Sure it is.”  Critic rolls her eyes.  “Keep her hopes up why don’t you.  You’re just setting her up for an even worse disappointment in a few months.”

I launch myself from the chair, knocking it to the floor.  “Screw this.  Screw you!”  I grab a fresh cup of coffee, a couple of doughnuts, the manuscript and my notebook.  I’ll just double-check.  No harm in that.  Right?

“What you need is a beta reader love,” coos a new voice, sweet, and seductive.

Sometimes, I really hate the voices in my head.

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in So it starts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Now What?

  1. emik says:

    If you need someone to read your novel for you before you send it out I would be happy to read it. Also if you want I can proofread it and check for spelling errors that your spell check wouldn’t find. I can offer rewrite suggestions for individual sentences that will cause the language to flow more smoothly without changing the meaning. I will also give you honest and constructive criticism about the story line if it needs it.

Leave a Reply

