Because I can

I’m pleased to announce the chicken has run its course.  However, I have no idea what to post about.  I’m not really doing anything new with my writing today.  Just line edits and synopsis work.  So, due to the lack of anything else I’ve decided to post a little snippet of the book I’ve labored over so hard.  I hope you enjoy it.

 

I waited for Death to claim me.  He took his sweet time.  I’d begun to wonder if I’d be stuck in that eternal blackness for the rest of eternity when the sweetest of scents filled me.

I’d never smelled such an alluring aroma and it captivated me.  As the scent grew, the unbearable burn flared up.  A scream tore from my throat and the blissful nothing vanished.  The smell taunted me with the promise of relief.

I lashed out at the temptress.  My flame covered body smashed it beneath me.  She sung a sweet lullaby and wrapped her cool arms around me.  Her song ended as I buried my face in her satin skin and lapped at the soothing scent.

The moment her aroma entered my mouth, she screamed out in ecstasy and wrapped her arms tighter.  Locked in her lovers embrace I let the cooling tendrils fill me.  I felt her body bow under mine as my mouth brought her to her climax.  With a last moan she stilled and the intoxicating aroma disappeared.

I opened my eyes for what felt like the first time, and my heart hammered my ribcage.  On the ground in a pool of blood laid a young man.  His green eyes stared up at me, empty and lifeless.  His hand, fingers torn, fell useless at his side.  Stark slashes covered his once handsome face and his arms bent at odd angles.

I whipped around and heaved onto the ground.  Bright red vomit splattered the side of my truck and the front of my ragged jeans.  Another heave covered my shoes in light pink spatter.  The last had nothing left to bring up.

 

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

