AGH! Run, Hide, It’s Raining!!

I noticed an odd theme yesterday, storms.  The book I started reading yesterday happened to start with a nasty storm that kept estranged lovers locked together in an old farm-house.  I was also working on a short story about a Demon Storm.  And just as I drifted off to sleep an ungodly sound jerked me from sleep.  It was like thunder made beast.  My bed shook worse than a rabid squirrel, and wind screamed out of the night  The entire house pitched as if it were a boat on a storm anger ocean.  Scared me to death.

Needless to say, I grabbed my little girl, throw a think blanket over her and made for the nearest enclosed room.  We had a slumber party.  I might have over reacted.  However, at the time, I didn’t care.  I still don’t.  In my sleep fogged state, I thought a twister had come down from the heavens to gorge on the landscape around us.  Sure, this morning it turned out to be the tree right next to my bedroom had attracted a few lighting blots one right after the other.  But still, I wasn’t going to risk it.

But this theme got me thinking, as most things do.  Did I happen to pick up the book with the storm because somewhere in the back of my mind I knew a storm was brewing here?  Did I just happen to write a story about a Demon storm simply because the late night stony sky foretold a storm?  Or had my preoccupation with the storms of make-believe that my mind made a mountain out of a mole hill?  Or I should say, a storm out of a drizzle?

And as my mind is likely to do, it bright to me a new idea to ponder.  I have a morbid fear of twister.  The idea of one has always turned me into a gibbering jello blob.  Just thinking of them sends shivers up my spine.  Anyway, this fear of mine makes me real, makes me human.   After everything I’ve had to endure in the last 3 years I can look danger in the face and laugh.  Threaten me with a twister, and I’m goo.  So the point I’m trying to make is that even the strongest characters needs a weakness.  They need something that they turn to blubbering idiots in the face of.

For me it’s twisters, for my MC Jamie, it’s dating, for my MC Josh its the thought of losing Jamie.  For Pennie, it’s the idea of missing out on a shoe sale.  What about your characters?  What turns them into blubbering, weepy goop?

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in Fun Questions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to AGH! Run, Hide, It’s Raining!!

  1. Great way to use this experience to think about your characters. Now that I think about it, it seems that my three main characters are all control freaks. Amanda is also deathly afraid of thunderstorms but she’s also afraid of her past. Alex is afraid of not winning (notice I didn’t say losing, he wants to win at everything). Shiloh is afraid of the truth. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

