OMG how…Is that even possible?!

Late last night I evaluated my writing progress and compared it to the deadline.  As it stands at the posting of this blog I have 30,257 words.  I need about 80,000 for my March 21st deadline.  I have 4 days to write close to 50,000 words!

People struggle to achieve that much in 4 weeks and I have just under 4 days while taking care of a very two-ish toddler.  This is me officially freaking out.  50,000 words in 4 days, is that even possible?  And if I do get those words out, will they be any good or just filler fluff?  Should I just give up?

The logical adult in me screams, YES!  This is bound to backfire, end up worthy of birdcage lining, or mulch for the flower beds.  Hang up the key board girl, admit your failure.

The writer in me laughs at the challenge while scolding me for wasting time on this blog.

I can’t give up, as crazy as it maybe, I’m going to get those words out, I’m going to finish on time and it’s going to knock the socks off my editor.

Please be warned, I’m likely to vent my anger, indulge in defeatism and freak out hard-core in the next few days and as my blog is my outlet, I’ll likely do so via posts here, so bear with me.

50,000 words in 4 days!  What have I gotten myself into?

 

(UPDATE AS OF THE END OF THIS BLOG: my sitter just informed me she had to work a double last night so she wont be able to watch my daughter and I overslept by an hour.  I think I’m going to be sick.)

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in So it starts, Tragic and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to OMG how…Is that even possible?!

  1. eclectophilia says:

    You can do it!
    Just pretend you’re doing the 3-day novel contest. Then it will look like you’re actually getting a deal by having the extra day!
    Ps. If you google 3-day novel contest the website has a survival guide that might have some good suggestions but at this point it might just be another distraction.

Leave a Reply

