I need a hug

I must be crazy.  When I got the deadline, it seemed very do able to me.  And at the time it was.  I just had to write 5 pages a day and I’d make it in no time.  No problem.  I could get that much done during nap time alone.  Beside, I’ve already written the book three times already.  This time would be easier.  I know where I’d messed up, I know what worked for the plot and what didn’t.  It was just a mater of getting the words out in an order that made sense.  And when it comes to my writing, my brain remembers everything.

And then my daughter refused her naps.  My nights were filled with bath time drama and my days with potty trouble.  When I finally got her to sleep, I’d be so exhausted I couldn’t see straight.  But that was okay.  There would be plenty of time to work tomorrow.  Now I have four days to do what I’ve been trying to do for four months.  And forget about starting a new one!

I have just under 82 hours left and about 46,750 words to my goal.  I’m resisting the urge to dig out that chocolate ice cream and have myself a good cry.    But hope’s not all lost.  Between potty breaks, clean up, chasing the baby around and climbing scares I’ve managed to log about two hours and close to 3,000 words.  If I’m able to keep this up, I’ll be able to met my deadline.  And I think I’ll take a well earned break once I’m done.

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in So it starts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

