Spring Fever, Spring Cleaning

It’s that time of year again.  The birds sing us awake every morning and the crickets lull us to sleep at night.  Morning due brushes tender springs of new life and sudden down pours puncture sleepy afternoons.  Fresh sparks of life bloom from the dried, dead earth and warm sun washes the gloom of winter from the souls of all living things.

We all feel a sense of excitement, a sense of beginnings and the buzz of the quickening under our feet.  Animals and children become restless in their dens while the adults wait on knifes edge for it to get just a little warmer so they can kick them out into the fresh air.

Spring is a time of renewal, rebirth, awakening and fresh starts.  We feel complied to clean house, to throw open windows and doors to air out our homes.  We weed through our closets, attics and basements to make room for new things.  So why not do the same with our writing?

As we dust the cobwebs from the corners and polish dingy wood, why don’t we dust off the story idea folder and polish that story we’d almost forgotten about?  When we weed out the old, warn clothes, lets cull out old, outdated research  When it’s time to finish up those projects we couldn’t get to last year, let’s finish that story, or novel  we’ve been ignoring.  And while planting that spring garden, lets plant fresh new ideas into our writing.

Yesterday I couldn’t write a single word.  Not because I didn’t want to or because the words just weren’t there.  My daughter had other ideas.  Finding time for my writing has become a constant battle and I must admit I was ready to give up on the whole thing.  Then last night I remembered it was spring.  Everything goes crazy in the spring, young children even more so.  I did, I still do.  So, while my daughter yearns for the freedom of outside play, I’ll wait on pins and needles for the temps to rise just a little higher and in the meantime, spring clean my writing.

Never give up, never give in, and write on baby, write on!

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in So it starts, What I've Learned and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

