One step at a time

A while back I posted about our dreams and how we should take those dreams one step at a time until we reach the top.  But I didn’t really explain what I meant by that.  So I’ve decided to post the steps I’m taking to make my dream real.  It’s my hope that by watching me slowly climb that ladder, you’ll take heart in reaching your own dreams.  And as I work through the steps, I’d love to hear of your own journey so feel free to post anywhere on my blog your hopes, steps, dreams and frustrations.

To start this whole thing out, I’ll tell you my dream.  I want to become published.  I need to share with the world my hopes and dreams, my fears and nightmares.  I want to help others work through their problems, even if it means giving them an escape from life for a few pages.

I could list out what my planed steps are, but that feels dull.  So I’ll take it one step at a time.

The first step would be coming up with an idea for a novel that’s captivating, unique and meaningful.  I feel I’ve already done that.  So this step is done.

So the next would be to write the story.  I was able to do this while on bed rest when I was pregnant with my daughter.  Another step done.

Then I needed to figure out what about it worked, what didn’t and how to fix it.  I’ve been working on this for nearly two years and I’m sure that I’ve worked out all the bugs.

So now, it’s time for me to work those into the story, strengthen the writing and making it sparkle.  And that’s what I’m working on now.  I’m also working on drawing up a timeline of events for the book to help me when it’s time to write the synopsis.  I’m really hopping I can get these two steps done in the next two weeks.

 

 

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in Fun Questions, So it starts, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

