I should be doing….

Ah, good old blog, how I’ve missed you so.  Wait, no, that’s not right.  I really shouldn’t be on here right now, there are so many things I should be doing.  Like writing.  So why am I on here, writing a blog about the things I should be doing instead of doing them?  You know, that’s a really good question.

Since I can’t go to the office today, I really should work on the house.  Things are falling behind, what with the out pouring of words.  But it’s a deary kind of day and house work is depressing.  So, I should research editing techniques to improve my skills.  But I spent most of last night reading through online writing tips and I don’t want to burn out.

So, I should work on a few short story ideas so I have fodder for any contests that come my way.  But there as so many ideas running through my head it’s hard to pick just one.

So, I should work on polishing my novel, it’s so close to being ready to submit.  But I read last night that it’s best to put some space between finishing a novel and that final edit so you can have some perspective.

So, I should figure out the next installment on my newest project.  But for it to work out right, there should be time between installments so it doesn’t come out as forced or fake.

So, I should…..this list can go on and on.  And they are just excuses not to write.  We all do this, some to a greater degree than others.  For me, it’s a constant battle.  There’s so much I want to do, it’s hard to find out where to start.  So I blog instead and nothing gets done.  In the end I know everything will come together, so why not enjoy a few minutes of procrastination?  I’ve come to really enjoy this blog and I love my readers (in a writer way)  so a few minutes enjoying the happy it gives me, isn’t so bad.

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in Huh? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

