Delete! Delete! Delete!

I’m typing up a storm today, closing in on 6,000 words (not including blogs, blurbs, ads, articles and what not).  My hands are on fire, my shoulders are killing me and my neck feels like stone, but the words keep flowing so I keep going.  I’m taking a short coffee break right now.  Funny that I find this blog a way to break from writing, don’t you think?

I actually had a reason, I would like to share with you a strange habit I’ve found myself doing.  It involves the delete key.  When ever I mistype a letter or letters and hit that key, I almost always go one too many.  When this happens, for some reason I think I can undo the last delete by hitting the delete key again.  I know this doesn’t work, as time and time again it’s proven to me, but I still do it.  And this made me wonder, what strange little habit’s do other writers have?  What fun little ticks do you, my wonderful readers, have?

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in Fun Questions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Delete! Delete! Delete!

  1. thorsaurus says:

    Sometimes, when I errantly hit the cap locks, I keep writing anyway because it makes what I’m writing look reaLLY IMPRESSIVE, KIND OF LIKE RIGHT NOW. But then I come back to my senses and end my minor qwerty rebellion. No point in adding to the already mammoth re-write.

    I love the name of your blog. Good luck with your ventures.

    • adsimons says:

      I hate when that happens to me. I’ll be typing along, having a grand ol’ time and look up to see nothing but caps. I blame it on ‘fat fingers’ not that my fingers are fat, but still. And thank you!

  2. eclectophilia says:

    Control-Z is my best friend. It undoes whatever I did last. Like when I accidentally hit Control-A (select all) instead of Shift-a to make a capital. Because once everything is selected the next letter you type replaces it all and those 700 words of awesome new chapter I just wrote and haven’t saved yet? It’s now been replaced by the letter t.
    Control-Z brings it all back and saves me from pulling out my hair and weeping.

    • adsimons says:

      Control-S is the extent of my keyboard short cut know how. I know it saves my work and had kept me from meltdowns many a time. Thank you for showing me that I can undo with Control-Z that’s going to help prevent even more melt downs.

      • eclectophilia says:

        I used to be a compulsive Control-S-er but I was using the PC Scrivener beta and it crashed once and wiped out an entire evenings work (about 7000 words). After that I got out of the habit of using Control-S. Even though now they’ve fixed that bug and I had accepted that something like that could happen when I decided to use a beta program.
        I need to retrain the Control-S instinct.

Leave a Reply

