But Mommy, I dun wanna go to school

It’s a beautiful morning.  Sorta. I’m feeling wonderful.  Not really. I slept like a baby.  With colic. And I’m ready to face what ever comes my way.  Behind built proof glass.

Today is the day I get to start working in my new office, unfortunately, life had other plans.  One of the downfalls of being self-employed, like I am, is life.  Yeah, my sitter has a job thing this morning (she only found out about late last night), my mother need’s help unloading a moving truck (we were going to do it yesterday but it rained), and by the time that’s all taken care of, the end of the work day would be looking me in face.

Last night I was devastated.  I’d been looking forward to going to work for a long time, and it call came crashing down.  I felt like I should crawl under a rock and give up because there’s always going to be something stopping me.  Sure, it’s no big deal now since I’m not facing deadlines.  But what would about when I do get deadlines?  Should I just give up?  Those thoughts lulled me to sleep and filled my dreams with failures.

This morning, I’m doing well.  I know that set back’s like this one will happen, and I can just make up for it by burning the midnight oil.  I could dig out the roll of brown paper and markers and let my daughter have at it while I work.  Yes, I may have a set back today in starting work, but it’s not the end of the world.

It’s a beautiful morning.  With blue skies and happy birds. I’m feeling wonderful.  So wonderful. I slept like a baby.  Warm and safe. And I’m ready to face what ever comes my way.  With head held high.

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in So it starts, Tragic and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to But Mommy, I dun wanna go to school

  1. Pingback: Slip Sliding Away « Teh's Tales, Ian's Yarns

Leave a Reply

