When Dreams Grow Wings

It’s Friday and I have no idea what words to spread across the pages. So, I’ll re-post something that I really enjoy. Simply because I can.

Dreams keep the spark alive in all that we do.  They put a little smile on our faces when things appear too hard and keep the words flowing.  We all have dreams, those little ‘what if’s’ and ‘that could happen to me.’  You know what I’m talking about.

My dreams span the world.  From the Phone Call, to the “You must have read the decimal point wrong”, and the simple 100 blog views.  These dreams keep me writing.  I know they could happen.  It’s happened before to others.  And as fun as it is to dream, I’m also realistic.  Could my dreams come true?  Yes.  But I know I must work for it.

I’d jump and scream and cry if my dreams came true, I’d also jump and scream and cry just to hear that I’m getting published at all.  I dream of becoming the next Dean Koontz, Stephen King, or J. D. Robb.  But I know they didn’t start as they are now.  It take’s work, dedication, tears and laughter.  It means that I must write and submit and write and submit and write some more.  I have to be rejected by a hundred agents and then rejected by a dozen publishers.  I have to watch my hard work put under a microscope and torn apart.  And that’s a ride I’m looking forward to.

So far in my life I’ve had dreams come true and after much thought, I’ve found out why.  I broke each dream down into steps or stages and worked my fingers bloody to meet each one.  Each step builds a ladder to my dreams until I reach the top.

An example of this:  The dream to be published.  Can you get published by dreaming of it?  No.  You must write something to be published.  Then you have to make it sparkle like star-dust.  Once there, you have to convince others that your star-dust out shines all the others and watch it go through the blender.  But once those steps are met, the dream can come true.

However, there is still the chance that your dream could grow wings.

So Dream on writers.  Dream and dream and dream.  And write and write and write. And then dream some more.

About adsimons

I'm about to embark on the wonder journey of publishing. Come join me as I struggle to get it right, land an agent and get published. All while raising my daughter alone and fighting just to keep my head over water.
This entry was posted in So it starts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When Dreams Grow Wings

  1. oh says:

    oh, how true! how true! I attended a writers conference last week. More than ever, you realize that you gotta be writing more and more if you want to be in the publishing game. There are so many distractions- including conferences!

    Hope you’re writing!

  2. What a wonderful post! I agree with having a dream that is so deep-rooted it hurts. When I was a kid, I would stand in the P section of the library imagining my name nestled in there. And, I still wander over that way now, just to make sure they have the shelf waiting for me.

  3. Pingback: Writing A Long Term Plan for Your Life and Writing | Writing Your Destiny

  4. Pingback: Dreams and Passion « A Kiss Of Bliss

Leave a comment